University of North Texas - Dept Chair/Div Head

- Denton, TX

Full/Part Time: 
The Department of Physics at UNT is seeking applications and nominations for the Department Chair position, with an anticipated start date of September 1, 2018; however, this is negotiable. We are inviting candidates with a strong record of research and professional accomplishments, leadership ability, dedication to education and commitment to collegial faculty governance. The Chair is expected to provide the scientific and administrative leadership necessary to propel the Department to a high level of accomplishment. Duties will range from managing the Department's administrative functions, curricula, budget and facilities to aggressively promoting externally funded research, recruiting and outreach. Candidates are expected to have an internationally recognized record of scholarly work commensurate with appointment at a tenured Full Professor level. Successful candidates are expected to have a synergistic impact on existing research programs, to participate in externally funded research involving graduate students and demonstrate a commitment to innovation in undergraduate and graduate education. The Physics Department at UNT is recognized for its strong research thrusts in condensed matter (experiment, theory and computation), complexity theory and nonlinear science, nanomaterials synthesis and characterization, ultrafast optical spectroscopy, atomic physics (theory and experiment) and ion beam materials modification and analysis. It currently has 21 full-time faculty, 69 graduate students, approximately 100 undergraduate majors, and serves over five thousand undergraduate students annually. Nationally, the University of North Texas is rated as a top-tier research university, denoted Doctoral University: Highest Research Activity (R1) in the Carnegie Classification. UNT ranks among the top universities in Texas for the number of doctoral degrees it awards annually and, with 38,000 students, is the fourth-largest in Texas. UNT is the most comprehensive university in the Dallas-Fort Worth metropolitan area, America's fourth largest and fastest growing metroplex. The UNT campus in Denton, founded in 1890, is the flagship of the UNT System. It is located in a town of 134,000 people about 36 miles north of Dallas-Fort Worth. UNT has the advantages of both nearby large cities that offer a wealth of entertainment, culture, shopping and professional sports, and a college town that offers a peaceful haven for study and research. The campus is highly diverse: 22% of undergraduates are Hispanic/Latino, 12% are Black or African American, and 52% are women. The Dallas/Fort Worth/Denton metroplex is home to a diverse population of high technologies that provide a broad collaborative base for research activities. Further information regarding the department may be obtained by visiting our website (www.phys.unt.edu) or by contacting Melinda Rule, Administrative Assistant to the Chair, Department of Physics, e-mail: Melinda.Rule@unt.edu, phone: 940-565-2630. The University of North Texas System and its component institutions are committed to equal opportunity and comply with all applicable federal and state laws regarding nondiscrimination and affirmative action. The University of North Texas System and its component institutions do not discriminate on the basis of race, color, sex, sexual orientation, gender identity, gender expression, religion, national origin, age, disability, genetic information, or veteran status in its application and admission processes, educational programs and activities, and employment practices. An earned doctorate in Physics or closely related field at the time of application with a record of academic and research accomplishments are required for the position.



P.O.Box 292788 Lewisville, TX 75029-2788  |  Phones: (214) 222-1500  |  (214) 222-8884  |  (800) 594-7036

P.O.Box 292788
Lewisville, TX

  (214) 222-1500
  (214) 222-8884
  (800) 594-7036

© Copyright 2018 Self Opportunity, Inc. All Rights Reserved.